So…

Hey, look, it’s this thing. Certainly has been a while, hasn’t it? Oh me, oh my… Here’s the lowdown: after finishing those final extra reviews, I intended on writing up a grand finale, a “What Have We Learned?” if you will, to serve as a final recap of my thoughts about the entire series, or at least the first 444 episodes of it. But, alas, reality intervened. Hours at my new job skyrocketed, to the point that I was working six, seven day weeks up from February to about mid July, with nothing to show for it but crazy overtime pay and IMDB credit on six summer movies. At that point, my heart wasn’t up to completing the recap. Too much time had passed; the blog would just continuing existing as is, a capsule of my crazy viewing experience through my favorite show.

But is enough, really enough?

Morbid curiosity is a cruel, cruel mistress. As Zombie Simpsons continues to barrel forward, I still remain flabbergasted that there remain a whole bunch of episodes of the Simpsons, as hollow of a shell as it is now, that I haven’t seen. And most of them I know nothing about. And beyond a shadow of a doubt, I’m certain that they are all horrible. Absolutely fucking horrible. I remain stunned at how the series continued to get worse and worse each passing season; by the time I got to season 20, there didn’t appear to be anywhere lower to go. But I’d said that in the past, and clearly we were much, much worse. Just as I had done during its first airing, at episode 444, I packed it in. But what future ridiculous adventures would the Simpson family endure? As ghastly as they may be, part of me would still like to know.

If you didn’t pick up on it, basically what I’m saying is I’m thinking of continuing the blog, picking up where I left off at episode 445, and continuing to the present. But is it even worth it? By the last couple seasons, I felt I was spinning my wheels with my reviews, because my complaints were becoming repetitive, since the show kept pulling the same shit over and over, whether it be ineffective joke telling, piss poor characterization, or inept attempts at parody or satire. I’m sure I’d find a lot of the same moving forward, but I still remain curious as to what further shit is down the road. The reviews wouldn’t be daily, and I may make them even shorter to avoid becoming too redundant, but I want to ask you guys what you think of this. That is if anyone is still reading this. My hope is that people are still subscribed to me, and will be surprised to see this pop up on their feed. Do you think it’s worth continuing my journey deeper and deeper into the mud? Is there anything left to comment on? Or should I forge forth just so you can be amused by my unrelenting anger by the absolute garbage I will be witnessing? I’ll let you guys have your say. My life, and my sanity, is in your grubby little hands.

22 responses to “So…

  1. It does keep getting worse and worse. I would continue reading even though you are right in that there’s probably not much new left to say.

  2. I’d read it. It’d be an excuse for me to catch up on the last few years, at any rate.

  3. I have really missed your reviews, but I’m not sure I want you to go through it – you seem like quite a nice guy.

  4. I would love to see you continue the blog in one way or another. So many bad episodes left untouched (and can you find an episode that you can call “good”, who knows).

  5. We need continual, clear evidence for the eventual, imaginary court case against Fox, Jean and co. It will hurt, but you must, Mike, it is your duty.

    Or, ya know, whatever you want.

    • Charlie Sweatpants

      “We need continual, clear evidence for the eventual, imaginary court case against Fox, Jean and co.”

      Yes. I’d leave Jean off the indictment, but other than that, yes. (Also, Mike, I swear I will reply to your e-mail. Just haven’t gotten there yet.)

  6. Welcome back!

    I would certainly be interested in more Simpsons reviews, because like you, I know it’s a foregone conclusion that they’ll all suck, but I’m still curious about what you’ll make of them. Definitely agree that you should take it more slowly, though. For your sanity’s sake.

    This is off-topic, but do you intend to continue Desperately Dissecting Dreamworks? They might not stimulate nearly as much discussion as MBWG, but I still really enjoy reading them. :-)

    • I dunno, probably not. I found I didn’t have as much to say about the DreamWorks library like I did with the Disney canon. None of their movies really elicit that great a reaction from me; the only ones that I can say I truly love are Kung Fu Panda and Megamind.

      • What did you think of Shrek Forever After? After the huge disappointment Shrek The 3rd was, I was surprised at how much I ended up liking that one, despite the cliché premise.

      • I enjoyed parts of it, particularly that little bastard Rumplestiltskin, but nothing in it really made me feel it was at all worth having a fourth goddamn Shrek movie.

  7. I’d love to see more reviews please.

  8. Pingback: Reading Digest: Futurama Comparison Edition | Dead Homer Society

  9. I have been wishing for this day to come about ever since the last post you had. I would check back daily, to see if it was a cruel joke that you were really done. Alas, it was no joke.

    I still to this day read all of your reviews, though. I am currently re-reading season 10 (working backwards, for some reason), and each review I wish I had new ones to read.

    Please come back. You may think you are repeating yourself, but the newer reviews are some of my favorites, if only because you can pinpoint everything wrong with them, and help me articulate to the less educated. Oftentimes I just find myself saying, “Just go read Me Blog Write Good.”

    Plus I would REALLY love to hear your thoughts on “Three Gays Of The Condo” and the whole Nedna debacle.

    Please come back.

    Please.

  10. By now, you’ve already begun, so I guess you’re committed to it. I’m looking forward to seeing your reactions to the handful of recent episodes I’ve seen, almost all of which I despised utterly. Just, y’know, don’t drive yourself into depression like the Nostalgia Critic did.

    Also, do you have any plans to revive A Little Disney’ll Do Yah? I’d love to read your thoughts on Wreck-It Ralph.

    • Not really. But I did love the shit out of Wreck-It Ralph, hands down the best Disney release since Lilo & Stitch. It’s weird how last year it felt like Pixar released a Disney film, and Disney released a Pixar film. And as for Frozen this year… meh. No real interest in seeing a Tangled redux.

  11. I’d love to see you continue, mainly to see just what I’ve been missing. I haven’t watched a new Simpsons episodes in over two years. It’s just not worth it anymore. I also want to take a moment to plug my own blog, Hello Nice Warners!, an episode-by-episode Animaniacs analysis inspired in part by this blog.

    http://legion1979.tumblr.com/

  12. Mike, please continue this blog. I look forward to your reviews of these episodes, thoughts, opinions, sense of humor, criticism and so forth. I do hope you find the time, once in a while, to review a few Futurama episodes on your other blog.

  13. You mentioned imdb- is this you by chance?: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5621681 . If so, congrats, that’s a lot of big-name movies to work on!

Leave a Reply

